The Ultimate Firearms Destination for the Gun Lifestyle

First Annual Conclave: the RECOIL Texas Hog Hunt

Kaiju sized, man-eating pigs are an ever present danger in today's world. Anyone who has seen Chawz or the trailers for Boar will tell you so. Well, the RECOIL staff has decided to do something about it. We've gone to Texas for our first ever Conclave, there to do battle with (hopefully) hordes of feral swine. We've assembled what can only be described as a wish list of weapons and gear from a veritable who's who of manufacturers.

Hopefully our fieldcraft and marksmanship will be worthy of it.

There will be an ongoing image feed here to keep you abreast of our success (or failure) and to give you a look at what we're using. You can also keep an eye out on our Instagram feed for hashtags  #recoiltexashoghunt #recoiltexashoghunting #texashoghunting #hoghunting and #gonetotexas.

Much more detail below.

[instagram-feed includewords="#recoiltexashoghunting, #recoiltexashoghunt, #texashoghunting, #recoilhoghunt, #hoghunting" instagram-feed showlikes=true instagram-feed disablemobile=true]

Here's an excerpt from the Operations Order as issued by Chief Editor Iain Harrison (a former British recce officer):

Conclave 1: RECOIL Texas Hog Hunt

Ground
We'll be working on approximately 25,000 acres in the vicinity of Frio Town, one hour west of San Antonio TX, comprising farmland and scrub river valley. It's not expected that shots longer than 250m will be a factor due to the nature of the terrain.

Friendly Forces
Team RECOIL consisting of all editorial staff, plus managerial, Art and sales staff.

Atts and Dets
Jason Swarr of Straight 8, staff of Frio County Hunts.

Enemy forces
Hogs, sir. Thousands of 'em.

Mission
Team RECOIL will slay porcine invaders, stacking their bodies like cordwood in order to produce editorial content for RECOIL and its sister titles. And bacon.

Execution
Concept of Operations
This will be a three phase operation. Phase one will be the assembly of RECOIL staff in FRIO TOWN, TX. Stage two will be the slaughter of many, many pigs and predator species under the tutelage of local guides. Phase three will be recovery back to base locations.

BOAR movie Monster Pig RECOILTexasHogHunt

 

This will be the first time we've been able to get the majority of our editorial staff together in one place at one time and we're pretty stoked about it; we'll be missing just Senior Editor Patrick Vuong (who is away at Ninja School) and Web Editor David Reeder (who had an Reserve Avengers meeting to attend). Hope you'll join us — online at least.

Many excellent companies have assisted Team RECOIL in this desperate battle against incredible odds. They include (but are not limited to):

5.11 Tactical www.511tactical.com

Aimpoint aimpoint.com

American Trigger Corporation (AR Gold Triggers) www.americantrigger.com

BLACKHAWK! www.blackhawk.com

Black Hills Ammunition www.black-hills.com

Blue Force Gear www.blueforcegear.com

Breakthrough Clean Technologies www.breakthroughclean.com

Century Arms www.centuryarms.com

Dynamis Alliance www.dynamisalliancecom

Elftmann Tactical elftmanntactical.com

EOTech www.eotechinc.com

FLIR System www.flir.com

GoTenna www.gotenna.com

Grey Ghost Precision www.greyghostgear.com

Insight Technology www.insighttechnology.com

Lasermax www.lasermax.com

Lehigh Defense www.lehighdefense.com

Luth-AR www.luth-ar.com

Magpul www.magpul.com

Mechanix Wear www.mechanix.com

Modern Outfitters modern-outfitters.com

MTEK www.mtekusa.com

Nightlong Industries nightlongind.com

Night Goggles nightgoggles.com

Oakley SI oakleysi.com

Princeton Tec www.princetontec.com

PULSAR www.pulsar-nv.com

TNVC tnvc.com

Remington www.remington.com

Replay XD www.replayxd.com

Spuhr Mounts www.spuhr.biz

Strike Industries strikeindustries.com

SureFire www.surefire.com

Surplus Ammo surplusammo.com

Texas Weapon Systems www.texasweaponsystems.com

Trijicon www.trijicon.com

Way of the Gun www.wayofthegun.us

YETI www.yeticoolers.com

We're not entirely sure what we'll find out there in the vast, arid wastelands of Texas, but here's hoping…

By the way, for more information on those movies, you can find out more about Chawz here and Boar here.


Enter Your E-Mail to Receieve a Free 50-Target Pack from RECOIL!

NEXT STEP: Download Your Free Target Pack from RECOIL

For years, RECOIL magazine has treated its readers to a full-size (sometimes full color!) shooting target tucked into each big issue. Now we've compiled over 50 of our most popular targets into this one digital PDF download. From handgun drills to AR-15 practice, these 50+ targets have you covered. Print off as many as you like (ammo not included). Click here to get IMMEDIATE ACCESS to a digital PDF of this target pack!



Subscribe to the Free
Newsletter